F1 teams have selected their drivers in the F1 Esports Pro Draft deciding who will represent them in the F1 Esports Pro Series happening later this year. 10 talented racers were selected in yesterday’s Pro Draft and will go on to sign contracts making them the official F1 Esports drivers who will professionally represent each F1 team in the next stages of the 2019 Formula 1 New Balance Esports Series.

2019 will see for the first time ever, 10 teams taking part in the F1 Esports Pro Series. Alfa Romeo Racing F1 Esports, Ferrari Driver Academy, Haas F1 Team Esports, McLaren Shadow, Mercedes-AMG Petronas Esports, Red Bull Racing Esports, Renault Sport Team Vitality, Scuderia Toro Rosso Esports, SportPesa Racing Point F1 Esports Team & Williams Esports. These 10 teams last night selected at least 1 driver each from the Pro Draft pool to represent them and join their racing line-up for the 2019 F1 Esports Pro Series.

Last night’s Pro Draft saw 41 racers competing in a series of nail-biting race-offs, all trying to show why they deserved to be selected for this year’s Pro Series. The top 30 racers then qualified for a live event and the chance to compete for one of the coveted seats on an official F1 Esports team. Following the races, F1 teams then had a chance to decide who they thought were the most skilled and talented and make their selection during the Pro Draft.

The event was streamed live on Facebook, Twitch and YouTube as well as being broadcast live on global television by select broadcasters. The list of selections are bellowing pending the signing of their contracts:

David Tonizza (Italy) – Ferrari Driver Academy
Simon Weigang (Germany) – Renault Sport Team Vitality
Floris Wijers (Netherlands) – Haas F1 Team Esports
Isaac Price (UK) – Williams Esports
Nicolas Longuet (France) – Red Bull Racing Esports
Lucas Blakeley (UK) – SportPesa Racing Point F1 Esports Team
Allert Van Der Wal (Netherlands) – McLaren Shadow
Kimmy Larsson (Sweden) – Alfa Romeo Racing F1 Esports
Manuel Biancolilla (Italy) – Scuderia Toro Rosso Esports
Daniel Shields (Australia) – Mercedes AMG Petronas Esports

Selected drivers, once having signed their contracts, will join their F1 Esports teams in preparation for this year’s F1 New Balance Esports Pro Series which will be made up of 12 races over four events. These events will take place on the 11th of September, 2nd of October, 6th of November, culminating with the Grand Finale which will take place on the 4th of December respectively.

The prize-pool of $500,000, nearly double last year’s total, will be up for grabs among the teams and the competition will take place on F1 2019, the newest rendition of the official F1 video game by Codemasters. 

This is what Julian Tan, Head of Growth & Esports at Formula 1 said following last night’s Pro Draft: “The F1 Esports Series Pro Draft is an incredibly important part of our effort to break down borders and open up our sport to a new generation of F1 fans. Being the first in motorsport to pioneer the pro draft concept has allowed us to establish a direct route into our sport for fans, giving the next crop of racing stars the opportunity to go from living room to podium and even World Champion by signing for an official F1 team. Tonight’s successful drivers are incredible talents and if the wheel-to-wheel racing is anything like last year, it’s going to be a thrilling championship!”

For more amazing Esports news, check out Esportsnow – read up on the biggest event of the year taking place on the little island of Malta now, The Nova Series, and hurry up before you miss out on all the action.