The Intel Grand Slam is returning for the third consecutive season, the ESL announced last week. One of Counter-Strike’s most prestigious awards, Season 3 will bring the same prestige of its predecessors however with a few minor rule changes. 

In order to win the Intel Grand Slam Season 3, a team must satisfy one of two prerequisites:

  • A team must win four Masters level CS:GO tournaments including at least one designated Masters level tournament within a period of ten consecutive tournaments
  • Or a team must win six Masters level CS:GO tournaments inside a period of ten consecutive events

This is a significant change from the previous iterations of the ESL award in which teams needed only to win four out of the ten Masters level events. The aforementioned ‘designated events’ will include the ESL One: Cologne and the IEM Katowice, two of the most popular events on the CS:GO calendar. ESL also announced that any future Counter-Strike major (a Valve sanctioned tournament) organised by either DreamHack or ESL would considered to carry the ‘designated’ status.

Check the announcement on Twitter by the ESL Counter-Strike division, here;

2019 saw Team Liquid claim the title in record speed which cast doubts over the future of the award. Having won the ESL One: Cologne, Intel Extreme Masters XIV Sydney, DreamHack Masters Dallas and the ESL Pro League Season 9, TL earned themselves the whopping $1 million dollar prize for being named Intel Grand Slam champions for season 2. This weekend will see the IEM Chicago taking place, which will be the first event of the Intel Grand Slam Season 3.

For the most up-to-date Esports news and facts check out Esportsnow, like our most recent article examining the new partnership between the Pittsburgh Knights and Pittsburgh-native Wiz Khalifa. What will this mean for the Pennsylvanian team? Only time will tell.